Sport Riding 101 opinions?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sport Riding 101 opinions?

I'm not sure I'll get much track time this year due to schedule issues(hopefully I can hit the kart track a few times though!), but I was thinking of signing up for the Sport Riding 101 course at the end of July as I feel like some hands on help would go a long way. How is this course? Anyone here gone through it, or even instructed for it?
    Fore reference: Only been riding at all since last July (~2300mi total, almost half of that is from this year), 1 trackday at RA, 1 at Blackhawk, and 1 day at the kart track USAIR.

Thanks!
    Matt J., Appleton
    2015 Yamaha R3
    Instagram- @motomatt_r3

Matt - I have been coaching in Sport Riding 101 for the last 5 years, and I can tell you that the feedback from folks who take it has always been positive. If you've done a Yellow Group track day with Motovid, you have gotten just a very small taste of what SR101 is all about. The Yellow group classroom sessions are mostly about keeping you safe on the track. SR101 is formal instruction aimed at making you a better / faster / safety rider. You have 7 on-track sessions (just like a track day), and for 5-6 of those there are specific drills we have you do, aimed at exploring some aspect of your riding. The last 1-2 sessions are yours to "put it all together". We keep a 3:1 rider-to-coach ratio and you stay with that coach for the entire day, so there is a lot of one-on-one debriefing time with your coach in addition to the classroom time. It's a busy day, but one that is certainly worth while.

Let me know if you have any specific questions!
    Motovid CR
    2006 Suzuki GSX-R750 (track warrior)
    2004 Ducati ST4s (road warrior)
    2009 Harley-Davidson Street Glide (Couch Potato-potato)

Comment